Links

Assynt Angling www.assyntangling.co.uk

Assynt Angling Research www.assynt.anglingresearch.org.uk

Assynt Community Digital Archive – www.munnin.org.uk

Assynt Crofters Trust www.assyntcrofters.co.uk

Assynt Foundation www.assyntfoundation.org

Assynt Leisure Centre www.assyntleisure.co.uk

Assynt Skies – www.facebook.com/Assynt-Skies-768410253270398

Coigach and Assynt Living Landscapes coigach-assynt.org

Culag Community Woodland Trust www.culagwoods.org.uk

Discover Assynt www.discoverassynt.co.uk

Fraser Symonds Wildlife Paintings www.frasersymonds.co.uk

Hebridean Whale and Dolphin Trust https://hwdt.org

Highland Environment Forum www.highlandbiodiversity.com/index.asp

Historic Assynt www.historicassynt.co.uk

Inverness Field Club www.invernessfieldclub.org.uk

Lochinver www.lochinver.bordernet.co.uk

National Biodiversity Network Atlas Scotland https://scotland.nbnatlas.org/

North West Highlands Geopark www.nwhgeopark.com

Place Names in Assynt Ainmean-Àite Asainte www.tinslave.co.uk/AAA

Scottish Ornithologists Club Highland Branch www.highlandbirds.scot/

Sutherland Biodiversity Group www.highlandbiodiversity.com/sutherland-biodiversity-group.asp

Whale and Dolphin Conservation www.whales.org/shorewatch

 

Report a Sighting

Recent Sightings

House Martin

two birds nest building on Drumbeg Hotel (DAH) (25/05)

Greylag Goose

eight adult birds with 15 goslings Loch Drumbeg (DAH) (25/05)

WALRUS - NOT AN ASSYNT SIGHTING BUT -

UPDATE The Walrus was spotted yesterday, the 24th, in Wick harbour. --------------------------------------------- You may have seen in the news that the Walrus which was first reported from Orkney on 9th March was spotted on 16th May, near Kinlochbervie. If it should turn up in Assynt it would be very much appreciated if you could quickly let us know on assyntwildlife@gmail.com. We can then let those that are monitoring its condition know. We would also ask that you do not do anything which will disturb the animal and please keep dogs on a lead and well away from it, thank you. (25/05)

Slow-worm

single seen in Ardvar garden (Beccy Garvie) (24/05)

Harbour Porpoise

six off Bay of Stoer (DAH) (24/05)

Long-tailed Duck

two male birds, one in summer plumage, Bay of Stoer (DAH) (24/05)

Common Tern

three birds feeding Bay of Stoer (DAH) (24/05)

Small Tortoiseshell butterfly

single on nettles Culkein Drumbeg and two flying near Stoer (DAH) (24/05)

Map