Links

Assynt Angling www.assyntangling.co.uk

Assynt Angling Research www.assynt.anglingresearch.org.uk

Assynt Community Digital Archive – www.munnin.org.uk

Assynt Crofters Trust www.assyntcrofters.co.uk

Assynt Foundation www.assyntfoundation.org

Assynt Leisure Centre www.assyntleisure.co.uk

Assynt Skies – www.facebook.com/Assynt-Skies-768410253270398

Coigach and Assynt Living Landscapes coigach-assynt.org

Culag Community Woodland Trust www.culagwoods.org.uk

Discover Assynt www.discoverassynt.co.uk

Fraser Symonds Wildlife Paintings www.frasersymonds.co.uk

Hebridean Whale and Dolphin Trust https://hwdt.org

Highland Environment Forum www.highlandbiodiversity.com/index.asp

Historic Assynt www.historicassynt.co.uk

Inverness Field Club www.invernessfieldclub.org.uk

Lochinver www.lochinver.bordernet.co.uk

National Biodiversity Network Atlas Scotland https://scotland.nbnatlas.org/

North West Highlands Geopark www.nwhgeopark.com

Place Names in Assynt Ainmean-Àite Asainte www.tinslave.co.uk/AAA

Scottish Ornithologists Club Highland Branch www.highlandbirds.scot/

Sutherland Biodiversity Group www.highlandbiodiversity.com/sutherland-biodiversity-group.asp

Whale and Dolphin Conservation www.whales.org/shorewatch

 

Report a Sighting

Recent Sightings

Kittiwake

c100 adult and 1st-winter birds feeding off Clachtoll (DAH) (24/09)

Tufted Duck

two male birds on Loch Drumbeg (DAH) (22/09)

Merlin

single bird near Stoer Village Hall (DAH) (21/09)

UPDATE on colour-ringed Oystercatcher

we have heard back from the Icelandic Wader Group regarding the colour-ringed Oystercatcher spotted at Bay of Culkein on Tuesday. It was ringed, as an adult, near its nest while it was territory-guarding on 19th May this year; the location was Eskifjorour which is on the east coast of Iceland. We will post a short article on the Field Club's website in the next few days regarding other sightings of colour-ringed birds recorded in Assynt (DAH) (20/09)

Pink-footed Goose

c225, in four skeins, heading east over Culkein Drumbeg (DAH). Oh boy, it's autumn! (20/09)

Wigeon

single male in eclipse plumage Loch Inver (DAH) (20/09)

Manx Shearwater

young bird rescued from a garden at Inchnadamph (Chris Rix/Andy Summers). The bird, which was well off-course, was successfully released at Stoer the next day. (18/09)

Oystercatcher

four birds resting on rocks Bay of Culkein (DAH). One of these birds, an adult, had a combination of coloured rings on its legs. The details have been submitted to the appropriate ringing scheme, which appears to be the International Wader Study Group, and we will report back once we hear from them. (18/09)

Map