Links

Please enjoy these links from our website to others that might be of interest to you. Clicking on a link will take you to that site, then return to us by use of your browser’s back arrow.

We do check them regularly but please let us know if any of these links stop working, thank you.

Remember that when you use these links you will leave our site, and we do not have any control over that other website. Therefore, we cannot be responsible for the protection and privacy of any information which you provide whilst visiting such sites. In addition such sites are not governed by our privacy statement. You should look at the privacy statement applicable to the website in question.

Assynt Angling – www.assyntangling.co.uk

Assynt Angling Research – www.assynt.anglingresearch.org.uk

Assynt Community Digital Archive – www.munnin.org.uk

Assynt Crofters Trust – www.theassyntcrofters.co.uk

Assynt Foundation – www.assyntfoundation.scot

Assynt Leisure Centre – www.assyntleisure.co.uk

Assynt Skies – www.facebook.com/Assynt-Skies-768410253270398

Assynt Woodland Blog – https://assyntwood.uk/woodland-blog

Birds and Debris, Highlighting the Global Impact of Plastic Pollution  – www.birdsanddebris.com

Coigach and Assynt Living Landscape – https://coigach-assynt.org

Culag Community Woodland Trust – www.culagwoods.org.uk

Discover Assynt – www.discoverassynt.co.uk

Fraser Symonds Wildlife Paintings – www.frasersymonds.co.uk

FutureLearn ‘Nature and Environment’ Courses – www.futurelearn.com/courses/ecology-and-wildlife-conservation

Hebridean Whale and Dolphin Trust – https://hwdt.org

Hebridean Whale Trail – https://whaletrail.org

Highland Biological Recording Group – www.hbrg.org.uk

Highland Environment Forum – www.highlandenvironmentforum.info

Historic Assynt – www.facebook.com/historicassynt/

Inverness Field Club – www.invernessfieldclub.org.uk

National Biodiversity Network Atlas Scotland – https://scotland.nbnatlas.org/

North Sutherland Wildlife Group – https://nswg.org.uk

North West Highlands Geopark – www.nwhgeopark.com

Place Names in Assynt Ainmean-Àite Asainte – https://www.assyntplacenames.net

Plastic@Bay – https://www.plasticatbay.org

Scotland: The Big Picture – www.scotlandbigpicture.com

Scottish Badgers – www.scottishbadgers.org.uk

(SMASS) Scottish Marine Animals Stranding Scheme – https://strandings.org

Scottish Ornithologists Club Highland Branch – www.highlandbirds.scot/

Whale and Dolphin Conservation  – www.whales.org/shorewatch

 

Report a Sighting

Recent Sightings

Rosy Woodlouse (Androniscus dentiger)

Single woodlouse, Nedd (Benjamin McTaggart and Ian Evans).  In grass tussocks, garden; first record from Assynt and West Sutherland (18/07)

Sawfly (Tenthredo sp)

Two insects on angelica flowers, Achnacarnin (Murray Anderson).  Photo Gallery - Other Insects (17/07)

Silver-ground Carpet

Single moth, Achnacarnin (Murray Anderson). Photo Gallery - Moths (17/07)

Common Red Soldier Beetle

Single beetle on angelica flower, Achnacarnin (Murray Anderson). Photo Gallery - Beetles (17/07)

Ruby-tailed Wasp

Single insect near flowering plants, Achnacarnin (Murray Anderson) (17/07)

Sedge Warbler

Single bird, Achnacarnin (Murray Anderson) (17/07)

Straw Dot Moth

Single moth in garden, Achnacarnin (Murray Anderson). Photo Gallery - Moths (16/07)

Slow Worm

Single reptile in garden, Ardvar (Beccy Garvey) (16/07)

Map